June 29, 2015

American Folk-Blues Festival: The British Tours 1963-1966

  1. Sonny Boy Williamson - Keep it to Yourself
  2. Muddy Waters - Got my MoJo Working
  3. Lonnie Johnson - Too late to Cry
  4. Big Joe Williams - Baby Please Don't Go
  5. Sonny Boy Williamson - Bye Bye Bird
  6. Sonny Boy Williamson - Getting out of town
  7. Lightnin' Hopkins - Come Go With Me
  8. Lightnin' Hopkins - Lightin's Blues
  9. Sugar Pie Desanto - Baby What You Want Me to Do
  10. Sugar Pie Desanto - Rock me Baby
  11. Howlin'Wolf - Smokestack Lighting
  12. Howlin'Wolf - Don't Laugh at Me
  13. Big Joe Turner - Oh Well, Oh Well
  14. Junior Wells - What I'd Say
Recorded live for TV broadcast throughout Britain, these historic performances have been unseen for nearly 40 years. Filmed with superb camera work and pristine sound, 14 complete performances and 4 bonus performances are included by Sonny Boy Williamson, Muddy Waters, Lonnie Johnson, Big Joe Williams, Lightnin' Hopkins, Sugar Pie Desanto, Howlin'Wolf, Big Joe Turner, Junior Wells, and Sister Rosetta Tharpe. Between 1963 and 1966 huge British tours were undertaken by the likes of Muddy Waters, Lightnin' Hopkins, Howlin'Wolf, and Junior Wells. This release in the American Folk-Blues Festivals gathers footage from these tours, providing an amazing document of a historic time.

No comments:

Post a Comment