June 15, 2018

Hootenanny at Carnegie Hall

Folkways Records FN-2512

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Released: 1963
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Folk
A1 Come and Go with Me to That Land: Hally Wood (2:46)
A2 The Battle of Maxton Field: Pete Seeger (5:08)
A3 Rye Whiskey: Tony Kraber (2:18)
A4 Blood on the Saddle: Tony Kraber (1:20)
A5 Things About Coming My Way: Jerry Silverman (3:38)
A6 Mark Twain: Will Geer (4:13)
A7 If I Had My Way: Rev. Gary Davis (4:16)
A8 Old Man, Will Your Dog Catch a Rabbit?: Hally Wood (1:29)
A9 Done Laid Around: Pete Seeger (3:26)
B1 I Never Will Marry: Pete and Mike Seeger (4:41)
B2 Oh, Riley (Reilly's Gone): Pete Seeger (4:41)
B3 Kevin Barry: Pete Seeger (3:59)
B4 Wimoweh: Pete Seeger (2:23)
B5 Jacob's Ladder: Pete Seeger (5:16)
B6 Hold On - United Nations Make a Chain: Pete Seeger (2:41)
Producer: Sing Out Corporation, Designer: Ronald Clyne, Photographer: David Gahr
Recorded at three "hoots" in 1958 and 1959, this album represents a tradition that, at the time it was made, was nearly two decades old. Through the course of hootenanny history, certain constants remained: variety, social commentary, and above all, a great deal of audience participation. This album embodies all three.

No comments:

Post a Comment