January 9, 2016

Mississippi John Hurt: Today!

Vanguard VSD-79220

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo
Country: US
Released: 1966
Genre: Blues, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Country Blues, Delta Blues
A1 Pay Day (4:18)
A2 I'm Satisfied (2:50)
A3 Candy Man (2:53)
A4 Make Me A Pallet On The Floor (4:29)
A5 Talking Casey (5:04)
A6 Corinna, Corinna (1:51)
B1 Coffee Blues (3:43)
B2 Louis Collins (4:04)
B3 Hot Time In The Old Town Tonight (3:03)
B4 If You Don't Want Me Baby (3:18)
B5 Spike Driver's Blues (3:24)
B6 Beulah Land (3:43)
Mississippi John Hurt (guitar/vocals)
Producer: Patrick Sky, Liner Notes: Nat Hentoff
Today! is the second studio album, but third body of work recorded by folk/country blues musician Mississippi John Hurt. It was released in 1966 by Vanguard Records. This album contains some of the first commercial material recorded after his "rediscovery" in 1963, and is the first he recorded for Vanguard. The album spans several genres and styles of music, ranging from traditional blues and folk songs, to country, to African-American spirituals. Along with Hurt's two previous releases, Today! helped to reveal his work to a wider folk audience. In 2009, the album was one of the twenty-five selections that were added to the Library of Congress' National Recording Registry. (Wiki)

No comments:

Post a Comment