January 31, 2017

The Enduring Magic: Michael Coleman

Claddagh Records CHCD-008

Format: CD, Album
Country: Ireland
Released: 2004
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Celtic
01 The Liffey Banks/The Shaskeen (2:57)
02 Tom Ward's Downfall (3:18)
03 Dougherty's (2:41)
04 Lord Gordon (2:59)
05 Stack of Barley Medley (3:07)
06 The Wind That Shakes the Barley/The Lady on the Island (3:05)
07 Lord McDonald (3:11)
08 The Derry Hornpipe (3:13)
09 Wellington's Reels (2:55)
10 The Foxhunter's (3:12)
11 The Morning Dew/The Woman of the House (3:06)
12 Trim the Velvet (2:53)
13 Mrs Kenny's Waltz/Men of the West (3:06)
14 The Green Fields of America/The Swallow's Tail (3:09)
15 Tobin's (3:04)
16 The Blackbird/Molloy's Favourite (4:54)
17 Bonnie Kate/Jennie's Chickens (3:06)
18 Dr Gilbert/The Queen of May (2:58)
19 The Kerry Reel/The Boyne Hunt (2:58)
20 Mrs Kenny's Barndance (3:06)
Michael Coleman (fiddle)
An Irish-American fiddler, Michael Coleman (1891–1945) was from County Sligo, and a major exponent of the Sligo fiddle style. In the absence of the Gael-Linn collection, this is the only full CD devoted to Coleman's recordings. It contains some of the material that was included on the Shanachie LPs, augmented by 78 rpm records from the archive of the Coleman Heritage Society in Gurteen. There are eight tracks that are new to CD, including two unaccompanied sets that were made privately for a friend. The music of Coleman is so important that it is great to see even these twenty tracks becoming available. Every time you listen to them you will hear something new.

No comments:

Post a Comment