May 19, 2017

Mud Acres: Music Among Friends

Rounder Records 3001

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Released: 1972
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Bluegrass, Folk, Country
A1 Cowpoke (1:27)
A2 Done Laid Around (2:50)
A3 Darlin' Corey Is Gone (3:29)
A4 Titanic (4:02)
A5 Give Me Back My Fifteen Cents (1:49)
A6 Out Of Joint (1:47)
A7 Jackhammer Blues (2:53)
A8 Oh, The Rain (4:56)
B1 Hobo Blues (3:12)
B2 Off To Sea Once More (4:21)
B3 Fifteen Miles To Birmingham (2:35)
B4 Lonesome Pines (3:44)
B5 Prison Wall Blues )2:20)
B6 Parting Friends (1:38)
B7 Mud Acres (2:04)
Performers: Artie Traum, Bill Keith, Eric Kaz, Happy Traum, Jim Rooney, John Herald, Lee Berg, Maria Muldaur and Tony Brown
Liner Notes: Happy Traum, Designer: Lloyd Ziff, Photographers: David Gahr & Lloyd Ziff, Engineers:Jim Rooney & Mark Harmen
Music Among Friends' was just that – an album concept brought to the fledgling Rounder Records in 1971 by Happy & Artie Traum, and featuring a wide variety of their musical friends from the Woodstock area. Happy Traum, Artie Traum, Maria Muldaur, John Herald, Eric Kaz, Jim Rooney, Bill Keith, Tony Brown, and Lee Berg, yielding an album that was at once relaxed, spirited and diverse yet very coherent. As so many of the folk labels of the early Sixties left folk music seeking greener pastures, 'Mud Acres' captivated listeners hungry for music that better embodied a real sense of community emblematic of the times. This is the album that spawned several successors over the following years.

No comments:

Post a Comment