November 25, 2017

The Country Blues

RBF Records RF1

Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation
Country: US
Released: 1959
Genre: Blues
Style: Country Blues, Memphis Blues, Delta Blues
A1 Matchbox Blues: Blind Lemon Jefferson (2:54)
A2 Careless Love: Lonnie Johnson (2:58)
A3 Walk Right In: Cannon's Jug Stompers (2:57)
A4 Low Down Rounder's Blues: Peg Leg Howell (2:53)
A5 Statesboro Blues: Blind Willie McTell (2:35)
A6 Stealin', Stealin': Memphis Jug Band (3:01)
A7 You Gonna Need Somebody on Your Bond: Blind Willie Johnson (3:12)
B1 Alabama Woman Blues: Leroy Carr (2:53)
B2 Special Agent: Sleepy John Estes (2:53)
B3 Key to the Highway: Big Bill Broonzy (3:02)
B4 Fixin' to Die: Bukka White (2:51)
B5 I'm A Guitar King: Tommy McClennan (2:51)
B6 Preachin' Blues: Robert Johnson (2:54)
B7 I Been Treated Wrong: Washboard Sam (3:22)
The Country Blues features a range of styles and a collection of recordings not included in other Folkways compilations. This selection—mostly recorded between 1927 and 1931—includes such gems as a test pressing of Robert Johnson's "Preaching Blues" and local releases from the 1920s.

No comments:

Post a Comment