April 2, 2016

Sounds Of The South: Southern Folk Heritage Series by Alan Lomax

Atlantic SD-1346

Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Stereo
Country: US
Released: 1961
Genre: Blues, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Folk, Country Blues
A1a The Banks Of The Arkansas: Neil Morris (1:59)
A1b Wave The Ocean: Neil Morris & Charlie Everidge (1:57)
A02 Hen Duck: Lonnie Young, Ed Young & Lonnie Young Jr. (3:02)
A03 The Farmer's Curst Wife: Estil C. Ball (2:56)
A04 Boll Weevil Holler: Vera Hall (2:03)
A05 Jesse James: The Mountain Ramblers (2:14)
A06 Jesse James: Neil Morris (4:51)
A07 Kenny Wagner: Bob Carpenter (2:33)
B01 Trouble So Hard: Vera Hall (1:36)
B02 Baptizing Scene: Rev. W. A. Donaldson (1:35)
B03 Is There Anybody Here That Love My Jesus: Viola James & Congregation (2:43)
B04 Windham: Alabama Sacred Harp Singers (1:59)
B05 Keep Your Lamps Trimmed And Burning: Fred McDowell (2:43)
B06 Come On, Boys, Let’s Go To The Ball: Sid Hemphill & Lucius Smith (2:02)
B07 Paddy On The Turnpike: Wade Ward, Charley Higgins & Charley Poe (1:45)
B08 Join The Band: John Davis & Group (1:03)
B09 Lucky Holler: Ed Lewis (2:20)
B10 I Be So Glad When The Sun Goes Down: Ed Lewis & Group (2:30)
Liner notes : Gary Kramer, Produce and photography: Alan Lomax
Southern Folk Heritage Series

No comments:

Post a Comment