February 26, 2017

Classic Mountain Songs From Smithsonian Folkways

Smithsonian Folkways SFW CD 40094

Format: CD, Compilation
Country: US
Released: 2002
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Folk, Country
01 Omie Wise: Doug Wallin (3:03)
02 Sugar Baby: Dock Boggs (2:50)
03 I Am A Poor Pilgrim Of Sorrow: Old Regular Baptists (5:24)
04 Sixteen Tons: George Davis (3:05)
05 John Henry: Lesley Riddle (2:25)
06 Lost Indian: Marion Sumner (0:51)
07 Southbound: Doc And Merle Watson (2:39)
08 High On A Mountain: Ola Belle Reed (3:02)
09 Coal Creek March: Pete Steele (1:23)
10 Coal Miner Blues: Hazel Dickens And Alice Gerrard (2:42)
11 Railroad Blues: Sam McGee (2:45)
12 Cuckoo Bird: Clarence Ashley (2:33)
13 Conversation With Death: Berzilla Wallin (5:03)
14 Lone Prairie: Wade Ward (0:52)
15 Rain And Snow: Dillard Chandler (2:23)
16 Mole In The Ground: Bascom Lamar Lunsford (3:19)
17 Moonshiner: Roscoe Holcomb (1:59)
18 Wildwood Flower: Kilby Snow (1:23)
19 Barbry Ellen: Jean Ritchie (5:01)
20 Daniel Prayed: Watson, Price, And Howard (2:54)
21 Wreck Of The Number Nine: Pop Stoneman (2:48)
22 Red Jacket Mine Explosion: The Phipps Family (4:00)
23 Kingdom Come: Norman Edmonds (2:02)
24 Amazing Grace: Horton Barker (4:16)
Liner Notes: Jeff Place & Jacob Love, Coordinator: Mary Monseur, Mastered by: Pete Reiniger, Technician: Nathaniel Berndt
Riding the wave of the renewed interest in traditional American music, Classic Mountain Songs From Smithsonian Folkways Recordings showcases a handful of the greatest mountain ballads as performed by some of the most influential folk singers and songwriters of the 20th century. This collection features many classic performances from a wide variety of regional instrumental and song styles. These diverse styles and songs from the mountain communities of North Carolina, Virginia, and Tennessee include old-time fiddle and banjo pieces, early bluegrass, and traditional ballads, with a special emphasis on Appalachian vocal traditions. Doc and Merle Watson, Roscoe Holcomb, Clarence Ashley, and Dock Boggs are just a few of the revered roots artists who appear on this stellar compilation. This album is essential for both old and new fans of American mountain music. Compiled and annotated by Jeff Place.

No comments:

Post a Comment