March 7, 2017

Charlie Poole And The North Carolina Ramblers: Old Time Songs Recorded 1925-1930

County Records CD-3501
Format: CD, Album
Country: US
Released: 1993
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Country
01 White House Blues (3:26)
02 Sweet Sunny South (2:53)
03 Shootin' Creek (3:23)
04 He Rambled (2:57)
05 The Letter That Never Came (2:47)
06 Mountain Reel (3:02)
07 You Ain't Talkin' To Me (2:53)
08 Sweet Sixteen (2:50)
09 Leaving Home (3:08)
10 Took My Gal A-Walkin' (2:46)
11 Monkey On A String (3:05
12 Ramblin' Blues (3:05)
13 Flying Clouds (3:15)
14 Falling By THe Wayside (3:04)
15 Don't Let Your Deal Go Down (2:51)
16 Take A Drink On Me (3:13)
Charlie Poole (banjo/vocals) Lonnie Austin (fiddle) Posey Rorer (fiddle) Norman Woodlieff (guitar) Roy Harvey (guitar)
Liner Notes: Kinney Rorrer, Producer: Dave Freeman, Remastering: Peter Siegel
Old-Time Songs contains 16 songs Charlie Poole recorded for Columbia Records between 1925 and 1930. This sampling features nearly every one of his best songs -- including the hits "White House Blues" and "Don't Let Your Deal Go Down Blues" -- and provides the definitive retrospective of Poole, as well as a good glimpse into the style and sound of old timey country music in the first half of the 20th Century.

No comments:

Post a Comment