December 22, 2017

The Earls Of Leicester: Rattle & Roar

Rounder Records CD 1166100002

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Released: 2016
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Bluegrass
A1 The Train That Carried My Girl From Town
A2 Why Did You Wander?
A3 All I Want Is You
A4 Steel Guitar Blues Intro
A5 Steel Guitar Blues
A6 You Can Feel It In Your Soul
A7 A Faded Red Ribbon
A8 Just Ain't
A9 Mother Prays Loud In Her Sleep
B1 I'm Working On A Road (To Glory Land)
B2 Will You Be Lonesome Too?
B3 Flint Hill Special
B4 What's Good For You (Should Be Alright For Me)
B5 The Girl I Love Don't Pay Me No Mind
B6 Branded Wherever I Go
B7 Buck Creek Gal
B8 Pray For The Boy
Jerry Douglas (dobro/vocals) Shawn Camp (guitar/vocals) Johnny Warren (fiddle/vocals) Charlie Cushman (banjo/guitar) Jeff White (mandolin/vocals) Barry Bales (bass/vocals) Dan Auerbach (drums)
Liner Notes: Thomas Goldsmith, Photography: Anthony Scarlati, Design: Jimmy Hole, Mixing Engineer: David Ferguson, Mastering: David Glasser
The Earls of Leicester have discovered a kind of magic that, when harnessed, allows moments once relegated to memories to roar back to life. Old sounds rattle loose chains of space and time that have kept us from forgotten joys and who we once were. Suddenly, as we listen to and watch the Earls pick, saw, and croon, instead of contemplating once upon a time, we are living it. With their second album Rattle & Roar (Rounder Records), the Earls have conjured up a fresh batch of Lester Flatt and Earl Scruggs songs, delivered with their Grammy-winning signature blend of homage, virtuosity, and perspective. The inimitable Jerry Douglas (14-time Grammy-winner) remains the band’s producer and hypnotic Dobroist; blue-ribbon songwriter, singer, and producer Shawn Camp (Garth Brooks, Blake Shelton) still soars on lead vocals and guitar; revered multi-instrumentalist and sideman Jeff White (Vince Gill, Loretta Lynn) now deftly handles high harmony and mandolin; ace Nashville banjoist Charlie Cushman (Jimmy Martin, Mel Tillis) tackles banjo and guitars; topflight musician Johnny Warren (son of Foggy Mountain Boys’ Paul Warren) cuts in radiantly on fiddle; and the esteemed Barry Bales (Alison Krauss & Union Station) holds magnificently steady on vocals and bass. To capture the feel of a live show, Rattle & Roar was recorded in one room, with all of the band members around mics, no separation between them. The result pulses with impish joy, uniquely showcasing artists at the top of their game as they delight in their work not just as creators, but also as fans struck with childlike awe.

No comments:

Post a Comment