April 11, 2018

Appalachian Mountain Gospel: 25 Bluegrass Gospel Classics

Rural Rhythm Records RHY-326

Format: CD, Album, Compilation
Country: US
Released: 2008
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Gospel, Bluegrass
01 There Is Power in the Blood: The Marksmen (2:04)
02 No Hidin' Place Down Here: Hylo Brown & The Timberliners (1:47)
03 Take Me in Your Life Boat: Red Smiley & the Bluegrass Cut-Ups (2:03)
04 Old Country Church: House Brothers (1:26)
05 The Great Speckled Bird: Reno & Harrell with The Tennessee Cut-Ups (2:30)
06 Keep on the Sunny Side: Lee Moore 1:13)
07 A Beautiful Life: Red Smiley & the Bluegrass Cut-Ups (1:33)
08 I'm on My Way to Canaan Land: House Brothers (1:44)
09 Oh Why Not Tonight: The Marksmen (1:38)
10 Is She Praying There: Mac Martin & His Dixie Travelers (2:38)
11 Golden Slippers: Jim Greer & The Mac-O-Chee Valley Folks (1:25)
12 Somebody Touched Me: Red Smiley & the Bluegrass Cut-Ups (2:35)
13 Where the Soul of Man Never Dies: Hylo Brown & The Timberliners (2:00)
14 Uncloudy Day: J.D. Jarvis (2:13)
15 Angel Band: House Brothers (2:35)
16 Leaning on the Everlasting Arms: Red White & the Country Gospel Singers (1:45)
17 Paul & Silas: Jim Greer & The Mac-O-Chee Valley Folks (1:52)
18 If I Could Here My Mother Pray Again: Happy Land Gospel Singers (1:46)
19 Lonely Tombs: J.D. Jarvis (1:54)
20 Precious Memories: House Brothers (2:36)
21 I Am a Pilgrim: Raymond Fairchild & the Maggie Valley Boys (1:48)
22 Let the Church Roll On: Red Smiley & the Bluegrass Cut-Ups (1:53)
23 I Feel Like Traveling On: Happy Land Gospel Singers (2:04)
24 Walking Cane: Hylo Brown & The Timberliners (2:12)
25 I'm Getting Ready to Go: Earl Taylor & The Stoney Mountain Boys (2:04)
Compilation Producer: Sam Passamano, Jr., Designner and Photographer: Marty Rosamond, Engineer: Steve Hoffman
Part of the ongoing Sound Traditions series of bluegrass anthologies from the Rural Rhythm label, Sound Traditions: Appalachian Mountain Gospel (25 Bluegrass Gospel Classics) gathers 25 rare examples of vintage bluegrass gospel. Artists include the Marksmen, Hylo Brown & the Timberliners, and Jim Greer & the Mac-O-Chee Valley Boys. Many of these songs have never been available on CD before.

No comments:

Post a Comment