February 22, 2018

The New Lost City Ramblers with Cousin Emmy

Folkways Records FTS-31015

Format: Vinyl, LP, Stereo
Country: US
Released: 1968
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Folk
A1 Old Tim Brooks (1:21)
A2 A Home In Old Kentucky (1:23)
A3 I'm Going 'Cross The Sea (2:17)
A4 Pretty Little Miss Out In The Garden (3:12)
A5 Little Joe (3:01)
A6 Ruby, Are You Mad At Your Man? (1:46)
A7 Dance All Night With A Bottle In Your Hand (1:37)
A8 Lost John (3:12)
B1 Bowling Green (1:46)
B2 Cat's Got The Measles (1:22)
B3 Mother's Grave (2:58)
B4 Chilly Scenes Of Winter (2:05)
B5 Graveyard (1:37)
B6 Johnny Booker (1:29)
B7 Scat Tom Kitty Puss (1:14)
B8 Shortening Bread (1:00)
Cousin Emmy (banjo/harmonica/vocals) Mike Seeger (mandolin/autoharp) John Cohen (guitar) Tracy Schwarz (fiddle/bass) George Winston (bass)
Produced by the New Lost City Ramblers
Recorded April 24, 1967, at Sound House in El Monte, California. Cousin Emmy, born Cynthia May Carver (1903-1980) in Barren County, Kentucky, brought the old time banjo music of her roots to glitzier venues, where she donned sequined dresses to create a stage presence, all the while maintaining the integrity of her clear vocals and banjo frailing. It was at such a venue, at a +IBw-Country & Western Night performance+IB0- at the Disneyland Resort in 1961, that she happened to meet the New Lost City Ramblers, who accompany her on this album. The quintessential music of Cousin Emmy can be heard on this album in the classic bluegrass played in the style of mountainous regions, sometimes very popular in the mountains of eastern Kentucky but rarely recorded, and in Emmy+IBk-s reinterpretations that became standalone classics themselves, such as "Ruby are you mad at your man?"

No comments:

Post a Comment