May 29, 2018

Paul Clayton: British Broadside Ballads in Popular Tradition

Folkways Records FW-8708

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Released: 1957
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Folk
A01 When Cockle Shells Make Silver Bells (3:12)
A02 Pleasant And Delightful (3:03)
A03 Three Maidens To Milking Did Go (1:44)
A04 The Bonny Bunch Of Roses (3:23)
A05 The Bold Thrasher (1:44)
A06 My Grandmother (1:41)
A07 The Lost Lady Found (3:05)
A08 When Pat Came Over The Hill (2:55)
A09 The Dark-Eyed Sailor (3:15)
B01 Jim, The Carter's Lad (3:15)
B02 Geordie (1:24)
B03 The Oyster Girl (2:37)
B04 The Bold Fisherman (2:02)
B05 Brian O'Lynn (2:46)
B06 The Sweet Primroses (2:41)
B07 Green Broom (3:07)
B08 Herchard Of Taunton Dene (1:48)
B09 The False-Hearted Knight (3:42)
B10 The Indian Lass (1:53)
Paul Clayton (guitar/vocals)
Designner: Ronald Clyne, Recorder: Kenneth S. Goldstein
American singer and folklorist Paul Clayton (1931–1967) became interested in ballads by hearing his grandparents and other relatives sing them. In college he went on folk song collecting expeditions, traveling throughout the United States as well as Great Britain and Western Europe, where he learned songs from field recordings and directly from singers. His additional research into BBC recordings and the collection of British broadsides at the Newberry Library in Chicago resulted in this album. Sung with guitar accompaniment, the recording contains 19 ballads which Clayton believed were representative of the vast amount of broadside material still found in oral tradition in 1957. Liner notes include broadside lyrics alongside the traditional texts, to show the changes that have occured.

No comments:

Post a Comment