May 5, 2018

The Days of '49: Songs of the Gold Rush - Sung by Logan English

Folkways Records FH-5255

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Released: 1957
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Folk
A1 Sacramento (1:45)
A2 A Ripping Trip (1:40)
A3 Sweet Betsy From Pike (4:05)
A4 Crossing The Plains (5:10)
A5 Prospecting Dream (3:05)
A6 Life In California (3:00)
A7 I Often Think Of Writing Home (2:00)
B1 The Days Of '49 (3:15)
B2 He's The Man For Me (2:35)
B3 Clementine (3:15)
B4 The Gambler (2:00)
B5 Joe Bowers (3:20)
B6 The California Stage Company (2:35)
B7 California Bloomer (1:45)
B8 Sacramento Gals (1:25)
Logan English (guitar/vocals) Billy Faier (banjo)
Recorder and Liner Notes: Kenneth S. Goldstein, Designer: Ronald Clyne
Performed by Logan English and Billy Faier this collection represents a specific historical time period: The Gold Rush. Logan and Faier pay homage to John A. Stone (aka "Old Put") who was instrumental in collecting these songs dating back to before 1860. The songs tell of the excitement of the Gold Rush, as well as the gritty hardships faced by the miners: "Many of his songs may show some hard edges, and he is free to confess, that they may fail to please the more aristocratic portion of the community, who have but little sympathy with the details, hopes, trials or joys or the toiling miner’s life… "

No comments:

Post a Comment