January 6, 2018

Del and Woody: The Del McCoury Band

McCoury Music – Number None

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Released: 2016
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Bluegrass, Folk
A1 The New York Trains
A2 Cheap Mike
A3 Ain't A Gonna Do
A4 Left In This World Alone
A5 Californy Gold
A6 Because You Took Me In Out Of The Rain
B1 The Government Road
B2 Dirty Overhalls
B3 Family Reunion
B4 Wimmen's Hats
B5 Little Fellow
B6 Hoecake Fritters
Del McCoury (guitar/vocals) Ronnie McCoury (mandolin/vocals) Rob McCoury (banjo/vocals) Jason Carter (fiddle/vocals) Alan Bartram (bass/vocals)
Executive Producer: Nora Guthrie, Art Director: Chris Harris, Designer: Mollie B. Creative, Engineers: David Ferguson, Sean Sullivan and Dave Shipley
Woody Guthrie is one of America's greatest songwriters. Del McCoury was dubbed a "national treasure" by the Washington Post. Though Woody’s career had concluded before Del’s began, the two are teaming up in an unlikely way as Del is setting Woody's handwritten lyrics to music. The Woody Guthrie archives features almost 3,000 song lyrics that were either never set to music, or the music was never preserved. Woody's daughter, Nora Guthrie, asked Del to resurrect these tunes. The result is nothing short of fantastic, and the Del McCoury Band has recorded these songs for the world to hear.

No comments:

Post a Comment