January 1, 2018

Ola Belle Reed: Rising Sun Melodies

Smithsonian Folkways SFW CD 40202

Format: CD, Compilation
Country: US
Released: 2010
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Bluegrass, Folk
01 I've Endured (2:49)
02 Ola Belle's Blues (2:18)
03 Springtime Of Life (4):19)
04 Bonaparte's Retreat (2:46)
05 Foggy Mountain Top (2:29)
06 Fortunes (4:12)
07 High On The Mountain (3:02)
08 Sweet Evalina (2:43)
09 Sing Me A Song (4:28)
10 Tear Down The Fences (3:34)
11 My Epitaph (3:13)
12 Look Down That Lonesome Road (2:40)
13 Undone In Sorrow (3:16)
14 I Believe In The Old Time Way (2:56)
15 Nine Pound Hammer (3:21)
16 I Am The Man, Thomas (3:26)
17 I've Endured (2:35)
18 Ranger's Command (2:56)
19 I Saw The Light (4:27)
Ola Belle Reed (banjo/guitar/vocals) David Reed (banjo/dobro/guitar/vocals) Bud Reed (guitar/harmonica/vocals) Kevin Roth (dulcimer/vocals) Alex Campbell, Sarah Cleveland & Betsy Rutherford(vocals) John Coffey (fiddle)
Editer: Carla Borden, Producer: Jeff Place, Assistant Producers: Nina Rao & Erin Durant, Production Manager: Mary Monseur, Mastering: Pete Reiniger
Ola Belle Reed was a trailblazing force for women in bluegrass music, an Appalachian woman of hard-earned talent and generous ways who delivered honest music sung from the heart. Her songs "I've Endured," "High on the Mountain," "My Epitaph," and many others forge real-life experiences into music steeled with determination, family tradition, and commanding presence. Classic tracks from the Smithsonian Folkways and Smithsonian Folklife Festival archives remind us why the light of Ola Belle's music shines brightly to this day. 8 previously unreleased tracks, 40-page booklet with photos, 61 minutes.
  • Tracks 1-11 recorded 1976-78 and produced by Kevin Roth, released on Folkways Records
  • Tracks 12-19 recorded at the Smithsonian Festival of American Folklife 1972 and 1976

No comments:

Post a Comment