June 1, 2015

Will The Circle Be Unbroken: Nitty Gritty Dirt Band

United Artists Records UAS-9801

Format: 3 x Vinyl, LP, Album, Gatefold with separate gatefold insert
Country: US
Released: 1972
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Bluegrass
A1 Grand Ole Opry Song (2:59)
A2 Keep On The Sunny Side (3:35)
A3 Nashville Blues (3:10)
A4 You Are My Flower (3:35)
A5 The Precious Jewel (3:30)
A6 Dark As A Dungeon (2:45)
B1 Tennessee Stud (4:22)
B2 Black Mountain Rag (2:10)
B3 The Wreck On The Highway (3:24)
B4 The End Of The World (3:53)
B5 I Saw The Light (3:45)
C1 Sunny Side Of The Mountain (2:23)
C2 Nine Pound Hammer (2:14)
C3 Losin' You (Might Be The Best Thing Yet) (2:44)
C4 Honky Tonkin' (2:19)
C5 You Don't Know My Mind (2:45)
C6 My Walkin' Shoes (2:02)
D1 Lonesome Fiddle Blues (2:41)
D2 Cannonball Rag (1:15)
D3 Avalanche (2:50)
D4 Flint Hill Special (2:12)
D5 Togary Mountain (2:25)
D6 Earl's Breakdown (2:34)
D7 Orange Blossom Special (2:14)
D8 Wabash Cannonball (2:00)
E1 Lost Highway (3:37)
E2 Doc Watson & Merle Travis: First Meeting (Dialogue) (1:48)
E3 Way Downtown (3:30)
E4 Down Yonder (2:58)
E5 Pins And Needles (In My Heart) (2:53)
E6 Honky Tonk Blues (2:22)
E7 Sailin' On To Hawaii (2:00)
F1 I'm Thinking Tonight Of My Blue Eyes (4:25)
F2 I Am A Pilgrim (2:55)
F3 Wildwood Flower (3:34)
F4 Soldier's Joy (2:05)
F5 Will The Circle Be Unbroken (4:50)
F6 Both Sides Now (2:19)
Roy Acuff (vocals) Maybelle Carter (autoharp/guitar/vocals) Doc Watson, Jimmy Martin, Merle Travis (guitar/vocals) Earl Scruggs (banjo/guitar) Vassar Clements (fiddle) Bashful Brother Oswald, Norman Blake (dobro) Randy Scruggs (autoharp/guitar) Junior Husky, Ellis Padgett (bass) Chet Flippo, Martha Flippo, Ray Martin, Tim Martin, Alice McEuen, Larry Murray, Gary Scruggs, Louise Scruggs, Steve Scruggs, Betty Travis (background vocals) Emmylou Harris, John Hiatt, Bruce Hornsby, Béla Fleck, Roger McGuinn (guest artists) Jimmie Fadden, Jeff Hanna, Jimmy Ibbotson, John McEuen, Les Thompson (Nitty Gritty Dirt Band)
Will the Circle be Unbroken is a 1972 album by the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band with collaboration from many famous bluegrass and country-western players, including Roy Acuff, "Mother" Maybelle Carter, Doc Watson, Earl Scruggs, Merle Travis, Pete "Oswald" Kirby, Norman Blake, Jimmy Martin, and others. It also introduced fiddler Vassar Clements to a wider audience.

No comments:

Post a Comment