September 1, 2015

Ramblin' Jack Elliott Sings Woody Guthrie and Jimmie Rodgers

Ramblin' Jack Elliott
Monitor Records MF-380

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo
Country: US
Released: 1962
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Folk, Country
A1 Do-Re-Mi (2:29)
A2 Dead Or Alive (3:22)
A3 Grand Coulee Dam (2:40)
A4 Dust Storm Disaster (3:27)
A5 I Ain't Got No Home (2:17)
A6 So Long It's Been Good To Know You (3:51)
B1 "T" For Texas (Blue Yodel No.1) (3:37)
B2 Waitin' For A Train (2:27)
B3 Jimmie The Kid (2:30)
B4 Mother, The Queen Of My Heart (3:04)
B5 In The Jailhouse Now (2:33)
B6 Whippin' The Old T. B. (3:40)
Ramblin' Jack Elliott (guitar/vocals)
A1-A6: Songs by Woody Guthrie, B1-B6: Songs by Jimmie Rodgers
Ramblin' Jack Elliott (born 1931) was interested in cowboys from a young age; he ran away from his home in Brooklyn, New York, to join a rodeo at age 14. But he was also inspired by Woody Guthrie--he lived with the Guthrie family for a time, mastering Woody's vocal and guitar style so completely that Woody supposedly xclaimed, "Jack sounds more like me than I do!" Jimmie Rodgers (1897–1933), of Meridian Mississippi, was one of the first country music icons, but only after his worsening tuberculosis made it too difficult for him to continue as a railroad worker.

No comments:

Post a Comment