September 8, 2015

Old Time Music at Clarence Ashley's

Folkways Records FA-2355

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Released: 1961
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Country, Bluegrass, Folk
A1 Sally Ann
A2 Old Ruben
A3 East Tennessee Blues
A4 Claude Allen
A5 Richmond Blues
A6 Skillet Good And Greasy
A7 The Old Man At The Mill
A8 The Haunted Woods
A9 Footprints In The Snow
B1 I'm Going Back To Jericho
B2 Maggie Walker Blues
B3 God's Gonna Ease My Troublin' Mind
B4 Handsome Molly
B5 The Louisiana Earthquake
B6 Honey Babe Blues
B7 True Lovers
B8 Pretty Little Pink
Clarence Ashley (banjo/vocals) Doc Watson (guitar/banjo/harmonica/vocals) Clint Howard (guitar/vocals) Fred Price (fiddle/vocals) Garley Foster (harmonica/guitar/vocals) Jack Johnson (banjo) Arnold Watson (banjo/harmonica/vocals) Gaither Carlton (banjo/fiddle) "New River Jack" Burchett (banjo/vocals) Dock Walsh (banjo/vocals) Tommy Moore (washboard) Jean Ritchie (vocals) Ralph Rinzler (guitar)
Producer: Eugene Earle and Ralph Rinzler Designer: John Cohen
Recorded in Shouns, Tennessee, Saltville, Virginia and Deep Gap, North Carolina in September 1960. Silver on black label. Long Playing Non-Breakable Microgroove. Issued with twelve page booklet containing bios of the performers plus lyrics. Booklet is separated from album by cardboard insert.

No comments:

Post a Comment