December 25, 2015

Clarence Ashley and Tex Isley Play and Sing American Music

Folkways Records FA-2350

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Released: 1966
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Old Time
A1 May I Sleep In Your Barn Tonight Mister?
A2 Rude And Rambling Man
A3 Whoa, Mule
A4 Faded Roses
A5 Shout Little Lulu
A6 The House Carpenter
A7 I'm The Man That Rode The Mule Around The World
B1 Wild Bill Jones
B2 The Little Log Cabin In The Lane
B3 Cluck, Old Hen
B4 Frankie Silvers
B5 The Prisoner's Song
B6 Hard Luck Blues
B7 Little Hillside
Clarence Ashley (banjo/guitar/vocals) Tex Isley (guitar/autoharp)
Recorder: Ralph Rinzler, Producer: Peter K. Siegel, Liner Notes: Jon Pankake
Clarence "Tom" Ashley's musical life began at home, with the family, but soon expanded to include the medicine show circuit. Popular among rural listeners, Ashley's playing didn't gain a wider audience until 1960, when he met folk music scholar Ralph Rinzler at the Galax Fiddlers' Convention. This album presents fourteen songs from Ashley's repertoire.

No comments:

Post a Comment