March 23, 2018

Elizabeth Cotten: Freight Train and Other North Carolina Folk Songs and Tunes

Smithsonian Folkways SF CD 40009

Format: CD, Album, Reissue
Country: US
Released: 1989
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Folk
01 Wilson Rag (1:35)
02 Freight Train (2:42)
03 Going Down The Road Feeling Bad (2:09)
04 I Don't Love Nobody (1:10)
05 Ain't Got No Honey Baby Now (0:53)
06 Graduation March (2:29)
07 Honey Babe Your Papa Cares For You (2:11)
08 Vastopol (2:08)
09 Here Old Rattler Here / Sent For My Fiddle Sent For My Bow / George Buck (3:45)
10 Run…Run / Mama Your Son Done Gone (2:15)
11 Sweet Bye And Bye / What A Friend We Have In Jesus (3:00)
12 Oh Babe It Ain't No Lie (4:40)
13 Spanish Flang Dang (2:49)
14 When I Get Home (2:21)
Elizabeth Cotten (guitar/vocals)
Compiler, Liner Notes and Recorder: Mike Seeger, Designer: Ronald Clyne
This reissue of Elizabeth Cotten's 1958 debut album, Folksongs and Instrumentals with Guitar is best known for containing the original recording of her classic "Freight Train". The breadth of her repertoire and endearing style have captivated generations of guitarists and fans of traditional American music. Freight Train includes guitar and banjo accompanied songs and tunes and features Mike Seeger's updated notes that include comments on Cotten's life, musical style and song lyrics. Cotten's self-taught, upside-down, left-handed style made her one of the most original guitar and banjo players in the history of American folk music. Many of her deeply personal compositions, such as the immortal "Oh Babe It Ain't No Lie", are included. "...[A] classic and belongs in every collection..." — Blues Review Quarterly

No comments:

Post a Comment