March 20, 2018

Honeyboy Edwards: Mississippi Delta Bluesman

Smithsonian Folkways SFW CD 40132

Format: CD, Album, Reissue
Country: US
Released: 2001
Genre: Blues, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Delta Blues
01 Big Fat Mama (2:58)
02 Catfish Blues (3:30
03 Sweet Home Chicago / Dust My Broom (3:57)
04 Blues Worry Me All The Time (3:36)
05 Ride With Me Tonight (3:33)
06 Next Time You See Me (4:27)
07 Remarks By Honeyboy Edwards (2:06)
08 Pony Blues (3:28)
09 Things Gonna Be Alright (4:07)
10 I Feel So Good Today (3:33)
11 Further On Up The Road (4:20)
12 You're The One For Me (2:51)
13 Bumble Bee (2:31)
Honeyboy Edwards (guitar/vocals)
Producer: Verna Gillis, Liner Notes: Barry Lee Pearson, Photographer: James Fraher, Designer: Joe Parisi, Mastering Engineer: Pete Reiniger
David "Honeyboy" Edwards embodies the continuity from blues' Mississippi Delta roots to electric Chicago blues. Honeyboy's string-snapping guitar riffs and soulful voice harken back to his friends and teachers Charley Patton, Big Joe Williams, Tommy Johnson, and Robert Johnson, who first forged the blues in Delta jooks and at country suppers during the Depression. Edwards crisscrossed the South in the company of such blues giants as Big Walter Horton, Sonny Boy Williamson, and Little Walter Jacobs. He settled in Chicago, where a post-WWII electric blues boom set the pattern for modern rock and roll. This recording captures him in a relaxed, unplugged, solo moment. Deep Delta blues from Robert Johnson's sidekick, whose searing vocals and stinging guitar bridge pre-war and post-war blues. Reissue of Folkways 3539. 44 minutes. 26-page booklet.

No comments:

Post a Comment