March 25, 2018

The Ritchie Family of Kentucky

Folkways Records FA-2316

Format:Vinyl, LP
Country: US
Released: 1963
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Folk, Old Time
A1 Green Gravels / Lord Thomas and Fair Ellender/ Somebody's Tall and Handsome (8:32)
A2 Brightest and Best (2:53)
A3 A Young Man That Wouldn't Hoe Corn / I Wonder When I Shall Be Marrired (3:49)
A4 Charlie / Turn Julie Ann Turn / Joe Bowers / Pretty Saro (7:45)
B1 Lord Bateman and the Turkish Lady (7:06)
B2 Amazing Grace / Sweet Rivers of Redeeming Love (3:31)
B3 Darby Ram / Dance to Your Daddy / Go Tell Aunt Rhody / Five Ten/ London Bridge / Skip to My Lou (5:06)
B4 Five-Ten / London Bridge / Skip to My Lou (3:11)
B5 Twilight A-Stealing (1:52)
Ritchie Family (dulcimer/guitar/vocals)
Designer: Ronald Clyne, Photographer: George Pickow
Inspired to share her musical life at home with audiences beyond the kitchen door, Jean Ritchie compiled this album of songs and stories from her family. Unlike studio recordings, this collection places each song in its social context, and Ritchie's extensive notes and interview transcriptions are both informative and entertaining.

No comments:

Post a Comment