March 22, 2018

Penny's Farm: Jim Kweskin & Geoff Muldaur

Kingswood Records KWR1603

Format: CD, Album
Country: US
Released: 2016
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Folk, Old Time
01 Diamond Joe (3:29)
02 The Boll Weevil (3:40)
03 Down on Penny's Farm (3:19)
04 Sweet To Mama (3:15)
05 My Mary (3:28)
06 Fishing Blues (3:04)
07 Louis Collins (Angels Laid Him Away) (3:20)
08 Just A Little While To Stay Here (3:20)
09 Gwabi Gwabi (3:05)
10 C-h-i-c-k-e-n (2:19)
11 The Cuckoo (4:21)
12 Downtown Blues (2:53)
13 99 Year Blues (3:30)
14 Tennessee Blues (4:32)
15 Frankie (3:51)
Jim Kweskin (banjo/guitar/vocals) Geoff Muldaur (banjo/guitar/kalimba/whistle/drums/vocals) Suzy Thompson (fiddle) Cindy Cashdollar (steel guitar/national tricone/vocals) Juli Crockett (vocals) Van Dyke Parks (accordion) Don Heffington and Paul Pouwer (brushes) Randy Landas and Kevin Smith (bass)
Cover Painting: Anthony Benton Gude, Designer: Erin Papa, Photographer: Don West, Liner Notes: Mary Katherine Aldin and John Sebastian, Engineers: Rick Cunha, Michael Feldman, Alan Silverman and Stuart Sullivan
50 years after collaborating in Jim Kweskin & the Jug Band, old friends Kweskin and Geoff Muldaur team up again for Penny's Farm, a straight shot of no-frills American folk music. The new music continues in the tradition of the original band's focus, which was less directed towards the injustice and struggle that many of their contemporaries railed against, but on good times and energetic, upbeat roots music.

No comments:

Post a Comment